Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Winners

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Winners

On Wednesday, 9 November, over 180 people gathered from across Hawke’s Bay to attend the inaugural 2022 Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards.

The recently refurbished Municipal Chambers complex at Toitoi Hawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre provided the venue for this very special occasion, where awards were given in eight categories, and a Supreme Winner. 

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Supreme Winner: 

Ngā Ara Tipuna, Waipukurau-Takapau


Ngā Ara Tipuna is a Pā site interpretation project showcases the network of seven historic Pā sites located In the Waipukurau-Takapau area of Tamatea/Central Hawkes Bay. A cultural and educational story telling tour has now been created, marrying the historic Pā sites with technology, to share a history and the stories of the people that is unique to Tamatea/Central Hawkes Bay. A self-guided driving tour, studded with storyboards, incredible views and on-site access to digital storytelling, has brought seven historic pā sites to life.

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Winners:

Domestic Building Saved and Restored Award Winner:

Whare Ra, Havelock North

HIGHLY COMMENDED Paradise Cottage, Paradise Road, Napier

Public Realm Saved and Restored Award Winner:

The Municipal Buildings at ToitoiHawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre, Hastings

HIGHLY COMMENDED Coles Joinery Factory, Ongaonga

HIGHLY COMMENDED Remembrance Army, Hawke’s Bay Branch

HIGHLY COMMENDED The County Hotel, Napier

Art Deco Era Saved and Restored Award Winner:

Daily Telegraph Building, Tennyson Street, Napier

Māori Realm Award Winner:

Ngā Ara Tipuna, Waipukurau-Takapau

Heritage Tourism Award Winner: 

Coles Joinery Factory, Ongaonga

Seismic Strengthening Award Winner:

The Opera House at ToitoiHawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre, Hastings

HIGHLY COMMENDED Tribune Precinct, Hastings

​Future Heritage Award Winner:

Tribune Precinct, Queens Street East, Hastings

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Hero Award Winner:

Denise Gore



Hawke’s Bay Heritage Heroes Award Winner:

Central Hawke’s Bay Museum

HIGHLY COMMENDED Hawke’s Bay Vintage Car Club

HIGHLY COMMENDED The volunteers at Hawke’s Bay Knowledge Bank

The inaugural (2022) Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards were established by the region’s four Councils – Central Hawke’s Bay District Council, Hastings District Council, Napier City Council, and Wairoa District Council with additional support from Art Deco Trust, Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, Historic Places Aotearoa, Historic Places Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand Media and Entertainment, and Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated.

The Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards is an exciting opportunity to celebrate and nurture the preservation of Hawke’s Bay’s cultural heritage. To be held every two years, with the next awards in 2024, these Awards recognise excellence in heritage and history conservation, heritage tourism and heritage storytelling, and will promote the values of world-class heritage retention and conservation to the wider community and provide much-deserved recognition for those who inspire us to connect with our past.

Nominations for the 2024 Heritage Awards to open 1 August until 31 August 2024.

2024 Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards Nomination Form

DD slash MM slash YYYY
Name of Nominator(Required)
Nominator's address
Name of the person or the project (as it would appear on the award)
Location of project
Name of contact person for the project?(Required)
If the organisers require additional information regarding the nomination, who should we contact?
Which award category are you nominating a person / project for?
Nominate an individual, project or organisation deserving of an award. Please select one or more award categories.
Please include as much detail as possible about the significance of contribution to the heritage sector of the person or project; the historic/ heritage significance of the project; the physical elements and complexity of the work undertaken and the impact within local area.
DD slash MM slash YYYY
DD slash MM slash YYYY
Only completed project will be considered for awards.
Please provide a 'Hero' image for the project(Required)
Accepted file types: jpg, jpeg, png, gif.
Please tick to confirm the following are included in your nomination(Required)
Please provide as much information as possible.
Drop files here or
Accepted file types: jpg, pdf, gif, doc, docx, Max. file size: 50 MB.
    Please include all information you wish the judges to consider in support of the award nomination.
    If the building/site owner: I/we consent to members of the judging committee visiting the project as part of the judging process and being professional photographed if necessary?
    How did you hear about the Hawke's Bay Heritage Awards(Required)
    Submitted by
    Submitted on behalf of

    Thank you to our Presenting Partners

    HDC LOGO.png

    And our Supporting Partners

    Art Deco Trust

    Hawke’s Bay Tourism

    Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

    Historic Places Aotearoa

    Historic Places Hawke’s Bay

    Join us for the Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards evening from 4.30pm, Friday, 8 November 2024.

    Purchase your tickets via Eventfinda